Santa Greeting the Passengers

 

 

 

 

 

Of all the crazy things you can encounter on the “EL” this by far is my favorite. The “xmas xpress train” (as I like to call it) is all about spreading good cheer. The CTA got it right with this joyful program.

Every year after Thanksgiving the CTA dresses up one of there trains from top to bottom with lights, tinsel, xmas trees, elves and of course SANTA and his slay!

When I heard this train existed I had to see it for my self, I had come across so many people who said they caught it, or that I just missed it. So I went online and checked the schedule (I wasn’t going to miss another train) I called up a friend and we planned out our special holiday ride, although we were only going to travel approximately one stop we had to not only catch a glimpse of this train but experience it first hand.

As the train pulled into the station I instantly started feeling like a kid again, the lights had me mesmerized I was so into checking out the decorations on the outside and catching a glimpse of santa on the flat car in the middle that I almost didn’t get on the train. It was once I got on the train that I really got in to the spirit.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There was Motown christmas carols, tinsel, candy cane poles and the best part was you were greeted by REAL LIVE ELVES. (and they were passing out candy canes….omg!! I was so happy). The entire inside of the cars were decked out with everything xmas.

 

I was so sad to see it leave, can’t wait to ride this year!!

The Holiday Train will travel all CTA rail lines in November and December as part of regular rail service. Normal CTA fares apply.

The train generally operates from about 1 p.m. to 8 p.m. on weekends and 3 p.m. to 7 p.m. on select weekdays (schedules for each rail line will vary), and will make stops at all stations along the respective routes.

  • Green Line – November 25, 26 & 30
  • Orange & Brown Lines – December 1, 2 & 3
  • Pink Line – December 7
  • Blue Line – December 8, 9 & 10
  • Red Line- December 14, 16, 17 & 20
  • Purple Line – December 15, 17 & 21
  • Yellow Line – December 22
Leave a Reply

